2012 Kaye Innovation Award Recipients Includes Two IMRIC Researchers

Kaye Awards 2012The annual Kaye Innovation Awards at the Hebrew University were established in 1993 by Isaac Kaye, a pharmaceutical chemist who has become very successful in translating novel ideas into marketed profit-generating products. Since their inception, the awards have earned a prestigious reputation. The prizes are awarded annually for any innovation that shows potential for bringing profit or savings to the University principally through royalties.

For the past 18 years, Yissum has been taking part in the selection process of Hebrew University faculty and students for the prestigious Kaye Awards. These annual awards are given to those inventors whose work exemplifies best the synergy of scientific excellence and commercial potential.

PProf Haya Lorberboum-Galskirof. Haya Lorberboum-Galski (right), head of the research committee and external relations at the Institute for Medical Research Israel-Canada (IMRIC) received a prize for her research on cell and organelle-directed protein replacement therapy for mitochondrial and other metabolic diseases. This novel approach may be applied to numerous mitochondrial diseases I which the damaged mutated protein involved is known. The new approach may open new inroads in the management of many incurable mitochondrial diseases, as well as other metabolic disorders. Click here for more information on Prof. Lorberboum-Galski's research and award.

Prof. Saul YedgarThe second recipient of the Kaye Award from IMRIC is Prof. Saul Yedgar (left) for his research on a novel class of multi-functional anti-inflammatory drugs (MFAIDs) for the treatment of inflammatory/allergic diseases. These drugs, currently in development by Morria Biopharmaceuticals PLC, will be used to treat inflammatory diseases of the airways (hay-fever, asthma and cystic fibrosis), skin (eczema), gut (Crohn’s disease) and the eye (conjunctivitis). Click here for more information on Prof. Yedgar's research and award.

Dr. Chamutal GurThe Kaye prize was also awarded to three promising students; IMRIC’s Chamutal Gur (right) for her research of “Generation of Anti-NKp46 mAb for the Treatment of Type 1 Diabetes”,  Lital Magid for her research on “Novel Cannabinoid Receptor Type 2 Selective Agonists for the Treatment of Inflammatory Conditions and Acute Central Nervous System Injuury”,  and to Idit Sagive-Barfi, for her research of “Novel T Cells Proliferation Inhibitors”. Click here for more information on Dr. Gur's research and award.

Prof. Rapheael Goren from the Robert H. Smith Faculty of Agriculture, Food and Environment was the third recipient of the Kaye Award for his research on the search for a novel water-soluble cyclopropene derivative antagonist (CPAS) of ethylene action on agricultural crops. The application of Prof. Goren’s new compound can both dramatically increase the yields of field crops when used during the growing period, and can also prolong the shelf life of vegetables, fruits and cut flowers treated after being harvested.